You Are Good Enough

I’ve realized in my old age, kidding I’m 21, that it is not okay to feel not good enough. At the same time I’ve realized it’s also inevitable. It’s inevitable because as human beings we are social creatures who want to be loved and accepted, some of us, by everyone. It’s not okay because you are good enough. To clarify, when I say it is not okay I don’t mean that it isn’t normal. I mean that you are the only person that you need to be good enough for. Your love for yourself doesn’t need to be affirmed by other people and your worth is not in other people. Bottom line: you do not have to be defined by other people.

If I were to tell you that I love chai lattes and thought they were the best thing in the world, you wouldn’t have to agree with me and you could even think I’m crazy, but it wouldn’t change my mind because it is my opinion. If I were to tell you that I loved myself and I thought I was all that and a bag of chips, you would call me conceited and arrogant. In most cases I would then begin to think of myself in that way as well. I’m not crazy I know the two scenarios are very different, but the point is why is it not okay to love ourselves? Is it because we want to be humble? Humility is not loving yourself less, it’s thinking of yourself less.

I’m a firm believer that we were made do something in this world. I am also a Catholic, so I believe that God made us to do something good in this world. I know not everyone may agree with my beliefs and my faith, but there is so much more to it than faith. You were brought to this Earth to shine a light into people’s lives; it is their choice as to whether or not they accept it. It is their choice as to whether or not they think it’s good enough. I promise you it is good enough. Just because I’d rather use the flashlight on my phone than a traditional flashlight does not mean that one is greater than the other. I use the flashlight on my phone because it is easier than finding something else. Maybe the person you want to accept you is taking the easy route and not looking for the light that you could shine into their lives because they’ve settled.

I know I am using a few too many ridiculous comparisons, but the overall point is that you, yes YOU, are good enough. If you don’t fell good enough because of a boy, maybe he isn’t ready for your goodness. Look for the love that is pure and does not make you compete for it. If you feel that way because of school, maybe you were meant for something different. If you feel that way because of a friend, dump them. You deserve better. I’ve been there I know it’s hard but you are worth more. If you feel that way because of someone else or anything else, they are not ready for your light. You are good enough. You were fearfully and wonderfully made. There is not a flaw in you. You are perfect. You are exactly who you need to be. The people who don’t accept you, who don’t think you are good enough, do not deserve you. They do not deserve the light you can shine. Love them anyways. Do not let them take away your light because you are magic in this world and you can make a difference. One day your light will shine in just the right spot to change someone’s life. Be kind. Be humble. Be yourself. Love yourself. You are good enough. You are good enough to be able to love yourself and you are good enough to feel loved by others.

You are good enough. 

Love yourself. 

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

